I was Born Geeky…

English: This page was printed in Italy at 147...
English: This page was printed in Italy at 1476. The first greek book from a geek printer (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
Geek Chic (book)
Geek Chic (book) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
Photo of my Geek Pride Festival T-shirt, as ta...
Photo of my Geek Pride Festival T-shirt, as taken by me, and posted to GeekT.com, color corrected in Gimp to make up for the bad auto-leveling of my old Casio QV-100. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I was born geeky.

I have always been a geek. I was born an outsider; a wallflower. Ever since I was kid I loved BOOKS. I have also kept my self well away from everything mainstream; thinking that they are but atrocious sellouts. I have often experienced ridicule; maybe because I was different or maybe because I was born partially blind.

Geek!
Geek! (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

But as I grew older I learned to embrace the geek in me. I no longer try to fit in. And as they say I am now “happy with my skin”. I no longer try to pile on make up to hide my imperfections; I just latter on anti aging creams (thank God for Olay). Even if I am not one of those oh so pretty girls I am very happy with how I look. I now have long locks and a healthy glowing skin that makes me look like I’m 25 instead of 27. But I’m still geeky I love preppy clothes. I still think that the Chuck Taylor shoes are the best shoe design ever made. I still believe that black and white photos best express the true beauty of the film. Classical music does not make me sleep; it makes inspired to work and study and read. And yes I am very much still into “real” books and abhor the monstrosities they call e-books (there is something about how a books smells that draws me to it). Being a geek is not bad at all; in fact I think it is pretty cool.

The life of a geek is no easy feat. Oftentimes people misunderstand you. In some places they even bully you for it. But no matter, you must tough it out and scream to the world “I am a geek and I’m proud of it!”.

Geek 1.0 VS Geek 2.0
Geek 1.0 VS Geek 2.0 (Photo credit: Emilie Ogez)
Leave a Reply

